India Holiday Mall

Destination Guide of Tibet

Tibet is a rich and beautiful land with an average altitude over 4,000m (13,120ft) above sea level. Possessing more than fifty peaks above 7,000m (22,960ft), Tibet is home to eleven Himalayan mountains over 8,000m (26,240ft). China, India, Nepal, Sikkim, Bhutan, Burma and Kashmir border the Tibet. Over two million people inhabit this land of rich natural resources and ancient cultures. Spiritual traditions, temples and monasteries, lakes and rivers, and mighty snow clad peaks are just a few of the intoxicating wonders to be experienced by adventurous travelers destined to visit this place.

Tibet & its Subcontinents

Facts and Figures

Official Name : Tibet
Population : 3.18 million
Area : 1.228 million km²
Languages : Chinese and the Tibeto-Burman
Geographical Location : Tibet is located on the Tibetan Plateau, the world's highest region. All of modern China, including Tibet, is considered a part of East Asia
Capital : Lhasa
Major Religions : Tibetan Buddhism, Bön, Chinese ethnic religion, Folk religious sects, Christianity, Islam.
National Emblem : The national emblem of the Republic is the national flower Shapla (Nymphaea nouchali) resting on water, having on each side and ear of paddy and being surmounted by three connected leaves of jute with two stars on each side of the leaves.
National Flag : The national flag of Bangladesh was adopted officially on 17 January 1972. It consists of a red disc on top of a green field, offset slightly toward the hoist so that it appears centred when the flag is flying.
National Bird : Magpie Robin
National Flower: Water Lily